Hill steps out of nomination race

Candidates for the next federal election are vying for their party's nomination.

The final candidates for the major federal parties are lining up for their respective nomination races in the newly established riding of South Okanagan West Kootenay.

NDP MP Alex Atamanenko, who has announced his intention to return to private life after the next election, currently represents the Boundary.

District of West Kelowna Councillor Rick de Jong announced his candidacy for the Conservative Party of Canada nomination earlier this month at a press conference in Penticton.

Penticton resident and real estate agent Marshall Neufeld is also campaigning for the Conservative nomination in the riding. He officially announced his intention to seek the nomination on Dec. 3, 2013.

With those two in the race, incumbent Conservative candidate Stephen Hill has announced he is dropping out of the race.

“With great sadness, I must withdraw my name for the Conservative nomination,” Hill said. “The timing of the current nomination conflicts with personal obligations,

which are beyond my control.”

Hill garnered over 19,000 votes in the 2011 federal election, coming in second to Atamanenko. “To Marshall Neufeld, and any other prospective candidate who may step forward, I wish you well. I know Marshall would be a fine representative of the Conservative Party.”

In order to vote, memberships to the Conservative Party of Canada must have been purchased by July 3, 2014.

Connie Denesiuk wants to be the federal Liberal candidate. Denesiuk, a former federal Conservative, served 19 years on the Okanagan Skaha school board in addition to holding the office of president of the B.C. School Trustees Association.

Vince Salvo, President of the South Okanagan – West Kootenay NDP Riding Association, said a nomination meeting to select their party’s candidate was also being planned.

“At the current time we have two candidates,” said Salvo. “Richard Cannings from Penticton and Margaret Maximenko from Christina Lake.”

The new electoral boundary of South Okanagan West Kootenay includes Penticton, Oliver, Osoyoos, Grand Forks, Greenwood, Rossland, Trail and Castlegar.


Just Posted

Minor injuries in car, semi accident near Greenwood

Road conditions were likely a factor in the Friday morning crash.

Kootenays unemployment rate best in B.C.

In one year, the region has gone from highest unemployment rate to lowest, at 3.1 per cent

VIDEO: U.S. Congress to probe whether Trump told lawyer Cohen to lie

At issue is a BuzzFeed News report that about negotiations over a Moscow real estate project

Rookie Demko backstops Canucks to 4-3 win over Sabres

Young Vancouver goalie makes 36 saves to turn away Buffalo

Charges upgraded against mother of murdered B.C. girl

Kerryann Lewis now faces first- rather than second-degree murder in the death of Aaliyah Rosa.

UPDATE: Injured firefighter in stable condition

Kelowna fire crews responded to a blaze at Pope’sGallery of BC Art & Photography on Friday

Rare ‘super blood wolf moon’ takes to the skies this Sunday

Celestial event happens only three times this century

Arrest made after historic B.C. church hit by arson

The fire at the 150-year-old Murray United Church in Merritt was considered a possible hate crime

B.C. dangerous offender in court for violating no-contact order, sends letter to victim

Wayne Belleville was shocked to see a letter addressed to him from his shooter, Ronald Teneycke

Crowsnest Pass RCMP seek help locating missing man

58-year-old Stuart David Duff was last seen on Jan. 6, 2019.

Man blames his loud car radio, sirens for crash with B.C. ambulance

Tribunal rejects bid to recoup ICBC costs after crash deemed 100-per-cent his fault

Most Read