BCSS principal announced

School District 51 (Boundary) announces the selection of Bo Macfarlane as their choice to replace Louise Bayles as principal at BCSS.

Robert (Bo) Macfarlane

Robert (Bo) Macfarlane

School District 51 Boundary is pleased to announce that Robert (Bo) Macfarlane has been appointed principal of Boundary Central Secondary School (BCSS) effective Aug.1, 2014.

Macfarlane took time out from the Boundary Minor Hockey Association Atoms playoff tournament last weekend to talk to the Times.

He said he has signed a three-year contract, which he says is typical for this district.

He is currently principal at Osoyoos Elementary School but he and his family live in the West Boundary and he has worked in School District 51 before.

He taught at BCSS when he moved from Abbottsford in 2002. Then he took on the role of principal at West Boundary Elementary School in Rock Creek for three years, followed by a principalship at Osoyoos Elementary.

He says he is thrilled to be coming back.

“It’s a dream come true,” said Macfarlane. “Every since Walt Osellame recruited me from Abbottsford, after working at BCSS for about two months I thought at some point I‘d love to be the principal at this school when their time is done. They’ve got great programs, some super kids and awesome teachers.

“When I went to Osoyoos it was always in the back of my mind that I would return. I told the board office I wasn’t leaving for good—that it was like I was going off to college. I went there to get some more experience and I had a terrific time there, I learned a lot and I want to bring that back here.

“This job was always on my bucket list.”

As well as working for the school system, Macfarlane is also active in the community. He is a Tae Kwon Do Third Degree Black Belt Master and founder of the Boundary Martial Arts Club, which started in the fall of 2007 and provides lessons free of charge two evenings per week.

Macfarlane is also active in 4-H and has a leadership role on the men’s hockey team.

Welcome back to School District 51, Mr. Macfarlane!